All Stories
Subscribe to Fraport AG

29.01.2002 – 16:37

Fraport AG

Four New Members Appointed to Fraport AG's Supervisory Board

    Frankfurt, Germany (ots)

Because of Fraport AG's initial public offering (IPO) in June 2001, the company's 20-member Supervisory Board - which features parity representation of shareholders and employees - will see four personnel changes. Three representatives of the original government shareholders are being replaced. The three new appointments to the group of 10 shareholder positions on the Supervisory Board will represent the interests of private-sector shareholders, who now hold almost one-third of Fraport's shares.  The City of Frankfurt will also exchange one of its representatives on Fraport's Supervisory Board. Fraport AG's four new Supervisory Board members will be: Dr. Manfred Bischoff, Christian Strenger, Joachim Vandreike, and Prof. Karel van Miert          Dr. rer. pol. Manfred Bischoff (born 1942) has been a Member of the Executive board of DaimlerChrysler AG  since 1995, with responsibilities for the aerospace sector. Dr. Bischoff is Chairman of the Supervisory Board of EADS European Aeronautic Defence and Space Company, which plays a leading role in the Airbus program.          Prof. Karel van Miert (born 1942) became a Member of the European Parliament (MEP) in 1979. He joined the European Commission in Brussels in 1989; he later served as the Commission's Vice President from 1993 to 1999 and was primarily responsible for competition issues. Since 2000, the Belgium native has been heading the University of Nyenrode in Utrecht, the Netherlands.          Christian Strenger (born 1943) worked for nearly twenty years as a business economist for Deutsche Bank in Frankfurt, London and New York. In 1991, he joined DWS Investment GmbH - Europe's largest public investment-fund company - as Speaker of the Management. He moved to DWS' Supervisory Board in 1999.          Fraport's three newly appointed Supervisory Board members will replace: Dr. Hans-Jürgen Froböse, Ministerial Director in Bonn; Walter Schäfer, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Landesbank Hessen-Thüringen; and Albrecht Glaser, City Treasurer of the City of Frankfurt.          Dr. Martin Wentz, the former head of the City of Frankfurt Construction Department, also resigned from Fraport's Supervisory Board. Pending approval of the City Council,  Joachim Vandreike (born 1948) will take over Dr. Wentz' board position. A full-time City Councillor since 1991, Vandreike was elected mayor of Frankfurt am Main in 1997.  Until 2001, he was responsible for Environment and Energy. Since then, he has headed Frankfurt's Sport and Housing Department.          Hessian Prime Minister Roland Koch, the Chairman of Fraport AG's Supervisory Board, believes that the new Board "continues to be filled with high-calibre people". Appointing Supervisory Board members with a high international profile sends a "clear message to the capital markets that Fraport is further intensifying its already well-defined corporate orientation".           ots Original Text: Fraport AG Internet:           Pressekontakt: For More Information, Please Contact: Fraport AG Frankfurt Airport Services Worldwide Attn:  Robert A. Payne - Manager International Press 60547 Frankfurt am Main, Germany Tel.: +49 69 690 -78547 (with voice mailbox) Fax:  +49 69 690 -60548 E-Mail: Internet: (click on  "Press Lounge")

Original content of: Fraport AG, transmitted by news aktuell